Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Buhari withdraws diplomatic, official passports from ex-governors, ministers, senators, others

The Nigeria Immigration Service has begun the withdrawal of diplomatic passports from former government officials including former governors, former Senators and House of Reps members, former Ministers and commissioners, former special advisers/special assistants, former chairmen/deputy chairmen of local government areas, all retired heads of parastatals and retired public servants.

A statement from the Comptroller-General of the Immigration Service, Martin Abeshi yesterday September 7th, said the diplomatic passports of those affected have been revoked and should be returned to the Immigration headquarters

“These categories of persons are hereby informed that these passports which were previously held by them have been revoked and should return them to the Nigeria Immigration Service Headquarters Sauka Abuja with immediate effect, Failure to comply with this directive will amount to an offence under the Immigration Act 2015. Such unauthorized possession will be impounded at our control posts on arrival or departure.” the statement read
President Buhari had on August 24 directed the Nigeria Immigration Service to retrieve all valid diplomatic and official passports from all persons not entitled to hold such documents.

No comments: